Director – Paul Gastonguay, Bates College

Gastonguay graduated from Bates in 1989 as the winningest tennis player in Bates College history, amassing a combined record of 149-41 in his four-year playing career. He set three of the top four single-season marks in school history and became the Bobcats’ second-ever All-American in tennis in his senior season, during which he was a finalist for the NCAA Arthur Ashe Award.

Gastonguay became the head tennis coach of the Bates women’s program in 2001, and he was named NESCAC Women’s Tennis Coach of the Year in 2003. In 2010 he helped lead the Bates women’s tennis team to a 10-6 record in dual play, the team’s first double-digit wins season since 1987. In 2012, Bates’ doubles team of Meg Anderson and Elena Mandzhukova played in the NCAA Division III Women’s Doubles Championship, becoming the first Bobcat women to play at the NCAA Championship level.

In 2002, Gastonguay was selected as the Intercollegiate Tennis Association Division III Northeast Region Men’s Coach of the Year. Gastonguay was inducted into the Lewiston-Auburn Sports Hall of Fame in 2006.

Twice honored as the NESCAC Coach of the Year, Gastonguay has led the men’s team to one of the longest periods of sustained excellence of any sport in school history. The Bobcats qualified for the NCAA Championships for seven straight years beginning in 2000.

Since 2003, he has coached 10 players to 25 All America Awards including: NCAA Singles Champion in 2006, NCAA Doubles Champions in 2009 and NCAA Singles Finalists in 2005 and NCAA Doubles Finalists in 2014.

Committed Coaches


Paul “Hobie” Holbach, Bowdoin College

  • NCAA Final Four: 2016
  • NCAA Elite Eight: 2008, 2012, 2014
  • NCAA Sweet Sixteen*: 2006, 2007, 2015
  • NCAA Regionals*: 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2013

The women’s tennis program at Bowdoin College was instituted in 1973, and has flourished into one of the strongest programs in the nation. Over the past  7 seasons, Bowdoin has  reached  the NCAA Elite 8  three times. Plus they have finished in the top 10 NCAA End-Of-Season Rankings  4 times. Their highest ranking has been #6 the last two seasons.

Kristen Raymond.  07-08  NCAA Quarterfinalist
Sarah D’Elia.            08-09. NCAA Semi-Finalist
Kellen Alberstone.  10-11.      ITA National Player To Watch
Kellen Alberstone.  12-13.   ITA National Senior Player Of The Year
Hannah Hoerner.    11-12.     Northeast ITA Arthur Ashe Sportsmanship
Joulia Likhanskaia 13-14.   NESCAC Rookie of The Year

Kristen Raymond.       07-08
Sarah D’Elia.                  08-09
Kellen Alberstone.        10-11,11-12, 12-13
Kate Winingham.           11-12
Joulia Likhanskaia.       13-14, 14-15, 15-16
Tiffany Cheng.               13-14, 14-15, 15-16
Tess Trinka.                    14-15
Emma Chow.                    14-15

Paul Holbach

Jason Cohen, Colby College

  • 2nd season as Colby College Men’s and Women’s Coach
  • Men’s team is currently #14 in NE fall rankings
  • Led the Colby women’s team to a 12-4 record in his first year and a 4-3 mark in NESCAC play
  • Women’s team earned an ITA Northeast Regional ranking of #16, while the Men’s team finished with a ranking of #18
  • Previously coached at Juniata College
  • Led men’s team to the 2015 Landmark Conference title and the women’s team to an ECAC Division III title in 2015
  • Landmark Conference Men’s Coach of the Year in 2014 and 2015

Jim Berrigan, Babson College

  • 18 seasons as Babson Men’s & Women’s Coach
  • 9 trips to the NEWMAC Tournament final and schools first NEWMAC regular-season title in 2015.
  • Led Babson to the program’s first NCAA Tournament win in 2014.
  • 166 total career wins – most victories of any coach in program history.

Rick Edelmann, Bentley University

  • 4th season as Bentley University Men’s & Women’s Coach
  • Has led the men’s team to the Northeast-10 Playoffs in each of his first three seasons. Led the men’s team to a record of 36-23 and 18-9 in Northeast-10 matches
  • Prior to Bentley University, previously coached at Boston University, Amherst College, Florida tech, and Merrimack College.
  • Won Coach of the Year Awards in all three Divisions, Dv. 1, 2, and 3.   At Merrimack (NE-10 – 1993, 1997), Amherst (NESCAC, 2007), and BU (America East, 2011)

Chris O’Brien, Connecticut College

  • 8th season as Connecticut College Men’s and Women’s Coach
  • In 2016 O’Brien led the women’s team to a 11-10 mark and its first winning record since 2007
  • In 2015, the men’s squad posted a six match winning streak in the month of March while the Camel women tripled their win total from the previous season
  • Previously coached at Roger Williams University
  • Led RWU Women’s program to back-to-back appearances in the 2007 and 2008 NCAA Tournament
  • Took the men’s team to the second round of Nationals in 2009
Chris O'Brien

Carol Matsuzaki , MIT

  • 18th season as MIT Women’s Coach
  • 7x NEWMAC Women’s Tennis Coach of the Year
  • Winningest coach in MIT women’s tennis history with a 228-106 dual match record
  • 2014-15 Matsuzaki guided MIT to the regular season NEWMAC title, win an NCAA Regional title and advance to the Elite 8 for the first time in program history.
  • Finished the 2014-15 season ranked No. 9 in the nation in the final Division III poll
  • NEW 8 Conference Athlete of the Year in 1995 while playing for MIT